Team India announced Squad for South Africa series – Rohit Sharma promoted as Vice Captain

Team India is all set to play three Test series for World Test Championship 2023 and three ODI International after long time starting from December 26. For ODI matches, BCCI announced that Rohit Sharma will be the permanent captain for all white ball formats. Added that Rohit is also promoted as Vice captain Test format. Virat Kohli will remain as the captain for Test Team.

Schedule :

Team News:

Players like Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman gill will be missed in this series due to injury and return of senior players made the team stronger than home series against New Zealand. Though , there were lot of criticism about the form of Rahane , he was given one more chance to prove himself in overseas condition as a player. Also, four players were annouced as stand by players.

Test Squad for Team India:


  • Virat Kohli(C)
  • Rohit Sharma(VC)
  • KL Rahul
  • Chateshwar Pujara
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Hanuma Vihari

Wicket Keepers:

  • Rishabh Pant
  • Wridhiman Saha

All -rounders:

  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Jayant Yadav


  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Shardul Thakur

Standyby Players:

Deepak Chahar,Saurabh Kumar,Navdeep Saini,Arzan Nagaswala

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top